Epic locations = epic listening.

As some of you know, I recently undertook a trip back to the west of Ireland, to counties Mayo and Clare. For me, the heart of the country- home to many of the locations that made me fall in love with the country in the first place.

IMG_1442   IMG_1426

I am sure I don’t need to tell you this, especially if you are Irish…but these are places of such epic, timeless beauty.  The calm, imposing slabs of the Burren, tactile even from a distance.  The green pastures with cows grazing that  surprise you, by suddenly dropping into a vertical chasm and plunging into the blue.  The immense, secret potential of the ocean, stretching out for miles.

IMG_1407IMG_1269La Cosa Preziosa Ireland

Sitting on my own on the sand, I listened to the Atlantic through my headphones.  This was probably the highlight of the trip for me.  I made an effort to disengage from the thought of recording, composing with or manipulating sound.  I forced myself not to monitor, but to just listen. It was so refreshing, so soothing to the soul.  I must have spent over an hour just admiring that rhythmical to and froing,  the vast expansive view, the secrets its keeps, ‘quest’Atlantico cattivo‘, as Francesco De Gregori would sing. And the light spray on my face carried the smell of the sea: the real one, not the kind of sickly, watered-down version we get in Dublin.

IMG_1428IMG_1449IMG_1452

Leave a Reply

