Behind the scenes / _liminal State (Pt. 1)

If you walked into my studio these days you’d be forgiven for thinking it had been turned into some kind of dusty repository-cum-recycling facility for discarded newspaper bits and scraps.  The Irish Times, Indo, SBP & co. are slowly but surely taking over the floor.  If you looked closer, you’d notice their dates range from last year all the way through to today- well, yesterday (I still like to read my papers before I cut them to shreds).  If you looked even closer, you’d see they are all focused around a similar theme: the Irish downturn, and its repercussions on the country as a whole and on its people in particular- yes, yes, the R-word.  Wait, don’t groan yet.  Instead look really close, and you’ll see me, like you, very much intent in trying to make some sense of it all.

Since last year I have been researching and developing a sound installation entitled _liminal State, which aims to explore the disorienting state of transition we are experiencing as Ireland fights to stay afloat, and we with it.  We sink, we swim, or we fly (abroad).  Oooh, ambitious – I hear you say, slowly shaking your head on a sudden surge of apprehension.  Maybe.  Or is it?  As somebody whose identity resides in-between places, I will be telling a story of people who are in-between places. I feel in relatively comfortable territory, to tell you the truth. I don’t claim I will come up with any answers of course, but I am fairly confident I will be able to articulate feeling and mood through my medium, and to do justice to the words and stories of the people who very kindly have agreed to take part in the project.  I hope that at the end of this journey these experiences will collectively paint a picture of a moment in time, and bring about a reflection of where each listener is within it.  The sound element will be assisted by physical interaction elements developed by Evangelos Kapros and by the poetry of Irish writer in London J.P. O’Malley, while centre stage will be the real-life contributions of Irish people now residing around the world.  Ambitious or not, I am definitely not alone on this journey.  If you want to share some of the road, in the next few postings I will tell you more about the thoughts behind the installation, and how it’s all coming together.

_liminal State will open at the Center for Creative Practices as part of the Migrant Artists on Ireland series on 18th April and will run until April 26th, http://www.cfcp.ie  

2 thoughts on “Behind the scenes / _liminal State (Pt. 1)

Leave a Reply

